Pear-rhubarb turnover-cake with honey

The summer honey-crop has been harvested last week, and I am busy processing and preparing the honey to be ready to sell. This involves skimming the impurities off the top of the honey in the buckets. I’m too proud of my first honey crop to just throw this honey away. Even though there are some ‘impurities’ in it; a little piece of wax or just air bubbles, it’s perfectly fine to eat. So I’m making cakes that use up this honey.

DSCN1796

I lined a baking tin with parchment paper and spread pear slices on the bottom. On top of the pears I spread the rhubarb and about half of the honey (half a tablespoon).
I started the cake batter by combining the dry ingredients in a bowl, then I added the eggs, vanilla essence, honey and melted butter one by one.

 

Evenly spread this over the fruits and place into a preheated oven at 180°C, bake for 45min. Afte baking, remover the cake from the oven and let it cool down a little. You can choose to flip it over on a plate and serve it immediately or turn it upside down and bake it for another 10min. The second option will get you more crunchy bits on top. I finished the cake off with some powdered sugar on top.

 


Ingredients:

  • 50g (1.76 oz) ground up almonds
  • 250g (8,82 oz) self-rising flour
  • 200g (7,05 oz) white sugar
  • 150g (5,3 oz) butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 ts vanilla essence
  • 2 large pears
  • 2 chopped rhubarb stalks
  • Large tablespoon of honey

DSCN1798

Leave a comment